Introvert Thoughts

I’m an introvert. Being in social situations exhausts me. I don’t like to gloat about what I’m doing in my life, my job, my relationships. I generally do more listening than speaking and I don’t like being the center of attention.

That said, I’ve observed a lot over the past few weeks while my Mom was in town visiting, seeing some extended family and going to a cookout at my Dad’s house. How people interact with eachother, what they say, what they don’t say, and how they get what they want from other people.

I don’t need the attention that other people may crave. I don’t need you to ask about me or show interest in my life for me to be content. I don’t need your approval or support because I know that I have my shit together. If you don’t care to want to know what is going on in my life…fine by me!

But you would think that some people would care. Family, for example. See, people who are loud and over exerting themselves to get my attention aren’t the people that I care to listen to. I want to know what is going on in the quiet person’s head. The person who doesn’t compete with the extroverts for a chance to talk about themselves. The person who is quiet and observant and not loud and unaware of their surroundings. The thinkers. Those are the people who I tend to gravitate to that intrigue me.

Being an introvert surrounded by many extroverts I’ve learned a lot. These past few weeks have been a little rough for me but at the same time I’ve never felt more content with myself, or my life. 

One thought on “Introvert Thoughts

  1. Thank you for sharing this post. It is something that I can definitely relate to so I am glad that I have found it. I am following your blog so that I can read more as I am sure I will be able to relate to your future posts.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

