Courage doesn’t always roar. Sometimes courage is that quiet voice at the end of the day saying “I will try again tomorrow”.

Last night around 3am I woke up from a dead sleep in a panic. I got out of bed and started pacing the house. The adrenaline surging through my body was not allowing me to lay or sit still. My heart was beating out of my chest. My throat was closing. It felt like all the air was drawn out of the room and I couldn’t breathe. I was so dizzy. After fighting the attack for almost 20 minutes I broke down. I cried as I let my body succumb to the panic, panic that I couldn’t control. I was so depressed afterwards. Why does this happen to me? What set me off? What if this happened when I was at work? I have panic attacks throughout the day but this was one I couldn’t hide. I then started getting anxiety again thinking about how I would handle an attack like that at work. I began convincing myself that I wasn’t worthy of my job. I lathered myself in my “Don’t Panic” essential oil and cried until I exhausted myself and fell asleep. When my alarm went off this morning the anxiety started again. What if this, what if that. The moral of this story is people with anxiety need to have the courage to overcome what our fears tell us we can’t do. As I was driving home today after suffering through 9 hours of work I began to tear up a little bit. I was proud of myself for not letting this illness get the best of me today. I will try again tomorrow. 

Leave a Reply

