Trust the vibes you get, energy doesn’t lie.

I’ve been on an anti anxiety anti depression medication for a couple of years now. I was having bad panic attacks frequently that were interrupting my daily routine. I was afraid to go to work, to get gas, to go grocery shopping. As a result I became really depressed because I didn’t understand why I couldn’t just be normal and do the things everyone else does without having crippling anxiety.  My doctor suggested this medication and I was so desperate I would’ve taken anything to make it go away at that point. They told me that it’s one of the most non addictive medications on the market and I’m taking the lowest dose. It took almost 2 months for the medication to get into my system. This medication is known to cause increased anxiety and weight loss as a side effect. My doctor took me out of work for 2 weeks initially because I couldn’t function my anxiety was off the charts. The physical symptoms that came with the anxiety were unbearable. Then I started to calm down a little. The anxiety was more tolerable but it never went away. Now that it’s been over 2 years later I’m still getting anxiety attacks and still have generalized anxiety every day. I spoke with my doctor and she recommended I come off of it, see how I feel and perhaps try something else if needed. Here’s the thing: I’m all about doing that, but I googled the withdrawal symptoms. I’m an idiot. I also read a few blogs others have wrote about coming off of this drug. Some had no problem others struggled a lot…they were also on higher doses than me though. So now I’m scared. I know this is what I need to do. Clearly it isn’t helping me. My gut is telling me this is the right thing to do. I need to suck it up and just do it. I’m thinking I’ll start Memorial Day weekend so if I feel like crap I won’t have to miss any work. Some people said it took them 3 months to come off of it…others 2 weeks. I can do this. I’ve survived this long feeling like crap and dealing with unbearable anxiety, how bad can this really be? Guess we will find out…

Leave a Reply

