Worry is the interest paid in advance on a debt you may never owe.

Tonight we have dinner plans at a restaurant I’ve never been to before. It’s a newer place in town and I’ve heard great reviews. I’m excited to go. Really. But I’ve had anxiety all day in anticipation of tonight. The people were going with do not know I have anxiety. They think I’m a normal person who goes through life normally that does normal things. Like try a fancy new restaurant that is likely loud that I’ve never been to before. I don’t do well in unfamiliar places. When it gets too loud and there is a lot going on around me I start to get anxious. Situations like these make me panic. I can’t bail because I promised the husband I’d put on my big girl pants and find a way to get through it. After all, they are taking us to dinner as a thank you for my husband doing them a favor. The more I think about it the more anxious I get. I’m starting not to feel well physically. Sometimes, I surprise myself in these situations and I’m only anxious for the first hour then I start to calm down and enjoy myself. Sometimes, the restaurant I thought would be loud ends up being quieter. Sometimes, when I think a place like this will cram as many people into a room as possible it ends up being roomy and more comfortable. Sometimes, it does end up not working out in my favor. But always, I feel accomplished once nights like these are over and I’ve made it through. And I’m determined to make tonight one of those nights. Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

